Visit to the Barn of S. Francisco combines fado with architecture

This Saturday

The «iconic building of the Horta dos Dogs Tower, also known as Celeiro de S. Francisco», will be unveiled tomorrow, Saturday, September 24, in a visit guided by the art historian Daniel Santana and the conservator-restorer Susana Paté, both technicians from the Municipal Museum of Faro.

The initiative, which is part of the European Heritage Days program, will also feature the performance of the farense fado singer Luís Manhita, who will, «through his voice, build a unique experience and symbiosis between the Portuguese soul of fado and the Tower of Horta dos Dogs, framed by scenic lighting, enhancing the beauty aesthetic and artistic aspect of the building", according to the FARO 1540, which was invited by the Museum of Faro to join the initiative, within the scope of the Torre de S. Francisco Project: Territory and Memory.

The visit «intends to make known one of the most enigmatic works of the architect Diogo Tavares e Ataíde (1711-1765) and his work», while promoting «the enjoyment and dynamism of the architectural heritage of our city, the memory of this place lost in time, unveiling its mysteries and opening another door to community participation, to a project that intends to be, above all, from the Farenses to the Farenses».

This event has the support of the Municipality of Faro and the Parish Union of Faro.