BTT Loulé/Elevis triumphs for teams in the competition of the XCO Portugal Cup

Daniel Lima's Triumph in Cadets

The MTB Loulé/Elevis went from Algarve to Minho to win by teams, in the second round of the Portuguese Olympic Cross Country Cup (XCO), held yesterday at the permanent track in Souto Santa Maria, Guimarães. The Loulé team thus consolidates the 1st place in the ranking of the Portuguese Cupl.

The victory of Daniel Lima and the 2nd place of Artur Mendonça, in male cadets, and also the 2nd place of Filipe Francisco, in men's under-23, contributed greatly to this good collective classification of the Algarve.

José Dias (DMT Racing Team) and Raquel Queirós (Guilhabreu BTT) won in the elite category.

The elite men's race was marked by an intense duel between José Dias and Roberto Ferreira (Guilhabreu BTT), which practically lasted from the first to the last meter of the race.

Barcelona's José Dias turned out to be stronger, crossing the line with a 4 second advantage over the newly crowned national BTT elimination champion. Roberto Ferreira is the new general commander of the Cup.

The dispute for the last place on the podium was also two. Ricardo Marinheiro got the honor, 2m19s from the winner of the day, after having managed to distance himself from the one who was his company throughout most of the race, Tiago Ferreira (DMT Racing Team).

Raquel Queirós was the strongest among the women's elite, taking charge of the overall individual trophy. The runner who has the qualification for the Olympic Games in Tokyo well underway showed clear superiority over her rivals, ahead of Joana Monteiro (Axpo/FirstBike Team/Vila do Conde) and 3m58s over Maaris Meier (Miranda Factory Team), who accompanied her on the podium.

The best juniors were João Cruz (Axpo/FirstBike Team/Vila do Conde) and Rafaela Ramalho (Brothers Moreiras/ACDRREBORBTT), while in cadets Daniel Lima (BTT Loulé/Elevis) and Mariana Líbano (Maiatos) won.

The winners in the veterans categories were masters 30 André Filipe (CPR A-do-Barbas/Akiplast/PVS) and Cristina Pereira (Figueirasbtt/Lousada/CarvicTeam), masters 40 Marco Macedo (Saertex Portugal/Edaetech) and Raquel Marques ( Axpo/FirstBike Team/Vila do Conde), master 50 António Passos (Rompe Trilhos/Ajpcar) and master 60 Luís Tomé (Korpo Activo/Penacova).

Paulo Teixeira (Rodabike/ACRG/Gondomar) was the only paracyclist present at the Minho Cycling Center race.

The third and final competition of the XCO Portugal Cup will take place in Marrazes, Leiria, on November 1st. On November 26th and 27th, the track in Tamengos, Anadia, will host the National Championship for the Olympic discipline of MTB.



Results of BTT Loulé/Elevis athletes:

male cadets

Daniel Lima – 1st place
Artur Mendonça – 2nd
Guilherme Barros- 9th
Noah Campos - DNF

female cadets:

Laura Simão - 4th
Beatriz Sousa- 5th

male juniors:

Diogo Neves - 4th
Tomas Onion - 16th
Diogo Clara-30°

female juniors:

Alice Brito- 5th
Margarida Cortes- 6th