João Viegas from São Gabriel restaurant is Chef of the Year

Chef João Viegas, from the São Gabriel Restaurant, in Quinta do Lago, was the winner of the Chef Cook competition from […]

Consecration CCA_Joao Viegas_lrChef João Viegas, from the São Gabriel restaurant, in Quinta do Lago, was the winner of the 2015 Chef Cook of the Year competition, an initiative that took place in Lisbon and had the support of Makro. The chef received a prize of one thousand euros, offered by the wholesale distribution company.

The final of the 26th edition of this competition took place at FIL Feira Internacional de Lisboa on the 22nd and 23rd of November and brought together six chefs.

In it, João Viegas presented as a starter, the dish «Fish of the day with cataplana soup and fake fried squid», «Cod at low temperature with all and pork ear», as a fish dish, «The roasted veal tenderloin with its croquettes and pickles of organic vegetables”, as a meat dish, and, for dessert, “Pudding with arbutus liqueur, lavender and apple mousse in different textures”.

On the podium, in addition to Leonel Pereira's assistant chef at the São Gabriel restaurant, which has a Michelin star, were Ricardo Raimundo, from the Hotel School of Fátima, (2nd) and Paulo Carvalho, from the Cevicheria Restaurant, in Lisbon (3rd). Ricardo Raimundo's dessert “Apple baked and apple slush” won the Helmut Ziebell award.

The finalists visited the Makro store in Alfragide, where they had the opportunity to «make the last purchases for the preparation of the competition's recipes».

“Makro is proud to support this initiative since the beginning, which presents Portugal with the Chef of the Year. Our country has enormous potential and we believe that cooperation with this type of initiative is highly rewarding for our professionals”, he says. Isabel Caeiro, Communication Manager at Makro Portugal.

The jury panel for this year's edition of the competition was chaired by Nuno Mendes, head chef of the London restaurants “Chiltern Firehouse” and “Taberna do Mercado”, and António Bóia, captain of the ACPP Junior Olympic Culinary Team.