It is now known who the winners of the Sophia de Mello Breyner Literary Competition are

Prize giving will be on April 20th

The 18th edition of the Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen Literary Competition already has defined winners, who will receive the prize on April 20th, at 11 am, at Cineteatro Louletano. 

The competition was once again organized by the Municipal Libraries of Loulé and Lagos, with the aim of «encouraging young people in the 2nd, 3rd cycle and secondary schools across the Algarve to read Sophia's vast literary work».

Students can participate in either the text or illustration categories.

This year, the winners of the Text, from the 2nd cycle, were Henrique Janeiro Quintas Sampaio, from EB 2,3 Dr. Garcia Domingues, Silves, (1st place); Carolina Peça Vieira, from EB 2,3 Tecnopolis de Lagos (2nd place), and there was also an Honorable Mention for Simão Novais from EB 2,3 D. Martinho Castelo Branco, Portimão.

From the 3rd Cycle, the first classified was Vitória Isabel Laginha da Silva Pencarinha, from EB 2,3 Padre João Coelho Cabanita, Loulé, the 2nd was Gonçalo Renato Bastos Viegas, from the Dr. Alberto Iria School Group, Olhão, while the Honorable Mention was awarded to Bárbara Rocha, from EB das Naus de Lagos, and Margarida Madeira Castro, from EB 2,3 Eng. Duarte Pacheco, Loulé.

In secondary education, the 1st placed were the brothers Santiago and Samuel da Fonseca Martins Ferreira, from Escola Secundária Júlio Dantas de Lagos; there were Honorable Mentions for Isabel Caldeira Vilela, from Escola Secundária de Vila Real de Santo António, and Simão Pinto Martins, from Escola Secundária Laura Ayres, Quarteira.

In the category of Illustration, the winners of the 2nd cycle were Victória Elsabeth Grigoriuuc, from EB Dr. Aníbal Cavaco Silva, Boliqueime (1st place); Tomás Sousa and Vicente Costa, from EB 2,3 in Quarteira (2nd place), and there was also an honorable mention for Anastasia Victoria Bastos, from EB 2,3 in Quarteira.

In the 3rd Cycle, 1st place was Letícia Coutinho Silva, from EB 2,3 das Naus, Lagos; the second was Daryna Kapushchak, from EB D. Dinis de Quarteira, while the Honorable Mention went to Yaroslav Rybachenko, from EB Tecnopolis de Lagos, and Leonor Maria Silva da Rocha, from EB 2,3 Dr. Joaquim Rocha Peixoto Magalhães, Faro.

In secondary education, 1st place was Sara Araújo Rodrigues, from Escola Secundária de Loulé, and 2nd was Anne Weckner, from Escola Básica e Secundária de Albufeira. Honorable Mentions went to Noah Silva Ramos, from Escola Secundária de Loulé, and Tomás Filipe Agostinho Rodrigues, from Escola Secundária de Loulé.

During the prize giving session of the 18th Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen Literary Competition, the book that compiles the winning works of the 17th edition of the Competition will also be launched.

This year, the jury was composed of Rita Moreira, representative of Loulé City Council, Luis Bordalo, representative of Lagos City Council, Teresa Duarte, from the Regional Directorate of Education of the Algarve, Célia Heitor, from the General Directorate of Books, Archives and das Bibliotecas, and Afonso Dias, as the guest author of this edition.