Portimão Hotel and Tourism School hosts the South & Islands Stage of the Chef of the Year competition

There are two chefs from Algarve restaurants in the competition

Jeferson Dias, winner in 2023 – Photo: Filipe Vera-Cruz

Bruno Augusto, Tivoli Carvoeiro (Lagoa), Miguel Pinto, Vila Vita Parc (Lagoa), Francisca Dias, Casa do Gadanha (Estremoz), Bruno Reis, Taberna da Villa (Vila Nova de Gaia), Hugo Pereira, The Lince Santa Clara Historic Hotel & Spa (Vila do Conde), and Marta Barcala, Bomsenso by Hotel Cristal Porto, are the chefs who will compete in the South & Islands Stage, scheduled for April 23, at the Escola de Hotelaria e Turismo de Portimão, of the Chef of the Year.

Chef of the Year is the largest and most important cooking competition for professionals in Portugal, this year presenting 18 competitors qualified for the regional stages.

This will be the 35th edition of the competition, which annually challenges professional chefs to showcase their culinary work in front of their peers.

The challenge is aimed at all professionals residing in Portugal, with over 25 years or more than five years of proven professional experience.

This year, competitors will have to present a menu consisting of a Fish or Seafood Starter, Vegetarian Dish, Meat Dish and Dessert with Alcobaça Apple. The use of lemon is mandatory in all dishes.

The three regional stages will take place on the 10th, 17th and 23rd of April, at the Hotel and Tourism Schools of Porto, Estoril and Portimão, respectively. The final takes place in Lamego, at the beginning of summer.


Jeferson Dias, winner in 2023 – Photo: Filipe Vera-Cruz


For the North Stage (April 10th, at the Porto Hotel and Tourism School, Diogo Novais Pereira, Porinhos (Braga), João Carvalho, World of Wine (Vila Nova de Gaia), João Costa, Euskalduna Studio (Porto) were selected. , Jorge Bolito, The Yeatman (Vila Nova de Gaia), Pedro Dias, Culto ao Bacalhau (Porto) and Vítor Miranda, Pena Park Hotel (Vila Real).

For the Center Stage (April 17), at the Estoril Hotel and Tourism School, Diogo Carvalho, Via Graça (Lisbon), Filipe Silvestre, Myriad by Sana Hotels (Lisbon), Gonçalo Gonçalves, Casa Plátano, Mercure Fátima (Fátima) compete ), Mário Santos, Rossio Gastrobar – Altis Avenida (Lisbon), Miguel Monteiro, Octant Hotels Douro (Castelo de Paiva) and also Rui Leandro, Royal Óbidos Spa & Golf Resort (Óbidos).

The alternate competitors are Tiago Rocha, Octant Hotels Douro (Castelo de Paiva), Thiago Moura, Hotel Feel Viana (Viana do Castelo), Miguel Silva, Octant Hotels Lousã (Lousã) and Helena Castro, Esperança Verde (Braga).

The jury responsible for evaluating the evidence will be chaired by António Bóia, chef at JNcQUOI, in Lisbon.

Over the 35 years of existence, renowned professionals such as Vítor Matos (Antiqvvm, two Michelin stars), António Loureiro (A Cozinha, one Michelin star), Henrique Sá Pessoa (Alma, two Michelin stars), João Rodrigues (Canalha and Projeto Matéria), Luís Gaspar (Sala de Corte, Brilhante and Pica-Pau), Ana Magalhães and, more recently, Jeferson Dias (Palmares Ocean & Living Resort).

The Chief of the Year competition has ICEL, Makro, Aviludo and Fagor as its Main Sponsors. Lamego is the Host Municipality of the National Final. The Sponsors are Arroz Bom Sucesso, Costaverde, LAVA and Bimi. The Partners are Turismo de Portugal, Bonduelle Food Service and Prochef. It is supported by ACPP, Chaîne des Rotisseurs, Rede-T and Dig-In. It is organized by INTER Magazine and Edições do Gosto.