The names of the Board of Trustees and Advisory Boards of the new museum and heritage managers are already known

From January 1, 2024, Museus e Monumentos, EPE and Património Cultural, IP will be in operation

Sagres Fortress – Photo: Arlindo Homem | Sul Informação

Isabel Capeloa Gil, rector of the Universidade Católica Portuguesa, will preside over the Board of Trustees of Museus e Monumentos de Portugal, the new public company that will be born next January, after the extinction of the Directorate-General for Cultural Heritage, announced today the Minister of Culture.

This Board of Trustees is also composed of Álvaro Sequeira Pinto, president of the Board of Directors of the Círculo Dr. José de Figueiredo – Friends of the Soares dos Reis National Museum, António Cachola, economist and collector of contemporary art, António Filipe Pimentel, director of the Calouste Museum Gulbenkian, and Philippe Mendes, curator, collector and gallerist.

For its part, the Cultural Heritage Advisory Council, the advisory body of the board of directors for all matters within the scope of the mission and attributions of the Cultural Heritage institute, will be composed of Paulo Pereira, associate professor at the Faculty of Architecture of the University of Lisbon, Manuela Martins, retired professor at the University of Minho; and Teresa Andersen, president of the Portuguese Association of Historic Gardens.

Minister Pedro Adão e Silva highlights the experience and professional skills of the individuals chosen for the 2024-2026 mandate.

The governor considers that “this is a bold reform, which reveals a new ambition for the management and preservation of cultural heritage and which requires a new
openness and relationship with civil society”.

“The choice of these personalities, whether for the management of the organizations or for the consultative bodies, corresponds to this ambition”, he added.

The formation of these two bodies – the public company Museus e Monumentos de Portugal and the public institute Património Cultural – is presented by the Ministry of Culture as «another step in implementing the new management model for museums and monuments and in safeguarding and disseminating the architectural, archaeological and intangible heritage».

In this context, the appointment of the Steering Committee, on a replacement basis, for Cultural Heritage, previously announced by the Minister of Culture, and composed of João Carlos Santos, Catarina Coelho and Laura Castro, was also published today.

After approval by the Council of Ministers last July of the diplomas that created the new entities, and the signing of ordinance 388/2023, in November, which approves the respective statutes, as of January 1, 2024, Museums and Monuments, EPE and Cultural Heritage, IP “will be in full activity”, he concludes the note from the Ministry supervised by Pedro Adão e Silva.