European Elections: PS won five times and PSD three, Costa had the best result ever

PSD won the remaining three of the eight European elections

The PS won five of the eight European elections and the PSD three, with the socialists achieving their best result in 2004, when António Costa rose to 'number one' after the death of list leader Sousa Franco.

The Social Democrats achieved their best result in European elections in the first vote in 1987, on a list headed by the future Social Democrat leader and Prime Minister Pedro Santana Lopes.

In the first European elections held in Portugal, the PSD won with 37,5% of the votes (corresponding to ten MEPs), followed by the PS (number one was Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo) with 22,5% and six mandates (the worst record of the socialists in Europeans), the CDS with four (with Francisco Lucas Pires as head of the list), the CDU with three (Ângelo Veloso was number one) and the PRD, which elected an MEP, Medeiros Ferreira.

In 1989, the PSD won again, but with a much shorter distance in relation to the PS: the social democrats led by António Capucho got 32,8% of the votes and nine MEPs, against the eight elected by the PS (28,5 %) with João Cravinho as head of the list.

Only two other parties elect MEPs: the CDU gets four, on a list whose number one is Carlos Carvalhas – who would later lead the party between 1992 and 2004 – and the CDS, which repeats Lucas Pires as head of the list, and gets three MEPs.

In 1994, Portugal began to elect 25 MEPs (instead of the previous 24) and the PS won the European elections for the first time with 34,87%, winning 10 mandates, on a list led by António Vitorino. With an almost identical percentage, 34,39%, the PSD elected nine MEPs, in a year in which Eurico de Melo was number one.

CDS and CDU are once again the other two parties to elect three MEPs each. The list of centrists, headed by Manuel Monteiro, receives 12,5% ​​of the votes, and that of communists – with Luís Sá at number one – receives 11,2%.

In 1999, the PS achieved a significant victory, with Mário Soares (who had already served as Prime Minister and President of the Republic) at the head of the list, obtaining 43,1% of the votes and 12 MEPs. The PSD, with Pacheco Pereira at number one, stands at 31,1% and nine MEPs.

CDU and CDS once again elect the same number of deputies, two each, this time, with the communist list led by Ilda Figueiredo achieving 10,3% and the CDS with Paulo Portas at number one – a year after having risen to number one. party leader – remaining at 8,2%.

In 2004, the socialists achieved their best result ever in European elections with 46,4% of the votes, in a list in which the head of the list, António Sousa Franco, died in the middle of the campaign and the current prime minister António Costa rose to number one, electing 12 of the 24 national MEPs (Portugal once again lost a European mandate).

PSD and CDS-PP present themselves in a coalition for the first time in European elections – “Força Portugal” – and the list headed by João de Deus Pinheiro obtains 34,6% of the votes and nine MEPs, with Luís Queiró being the first of the two elected Christian Democrats.

The CDU, with a list once again led by Ilda Figueiredo, gets 9,46% and two MEPs and BE elects for the first time a representative to the European Parliament, one of the founders of the party Miguel Portas, and 5,1% of the votes, five years after the birth of this new political force.

In 2009, the PSD won European elections again twenty years later, with the list headed by newcomer Paulo Rangel winning 31,7% of the votes and eight MEPs, followed by the PS with 26,5% and seven mandates, having Vital Moreira as number one.

In a year in which Portugal began to elect 22 MEPs (two fewer than previously), BE rose to the third political force in the European Parliament, with three MEPs and 10,7%, repeating Miguel Portas as number one. The CDU also bets, for the third time, on Ilda Figueiredo and gets 10,6% of the votes and two MEPs, the same as the CDS-PP, which 'debuts' Nuno Melo and gets 8,4% of the votes.

In 2014, Portugal lost another MEP (21) and the PS won the European elections again: with Francisco Assis the head of the list got 31,5% of the votes, corresponding to eight MEPs.

PSD and CDS-PP once again form a coalition for the European Parliament and Aliança Portugal, again led by Paulo Rangel, elects seven MEPs (with Nuno Melo being the only member of the CDS-PP) and 27,7% of the votes (the worst the usual result for the PSD in this type of elections), followed by the CDU which, with the new head of the list João Ferreira, wins three MEPs (12,7%).

In this election, the surprise came from the Partido da Terra Movement which, in a list led by the former President of the Bar Association António Marinho e Pinto, managed to obtain two MEPs corresponding to 7,15% of the votes. BE falls to fifth political force with 4,6% and only elects the head of the list Marisa Matias.

In 2019, the PS won the European elections again, with 33,38% of the votes and the election of nine MEPs, while the PSD, running alone, recorded its worst result ever in national elections, with 21,94% and six terms.

BE and CDU came in third and fourth place, respectively – both electing two MEPs -, while CDS-PP and PAN both won a mandate, with PAN making its debut in the European Parliament.