Algarvian Laura Simão is crowned U23 national champion in Olympic cross country

Loulé/Elevis MTB cyclist

Laura Simão (BTT Loulé/Elevis) was crowned U23 national champion in Olympic cross country (XCO), in the race held this Sunday, in Paredes de Coura, where the elite national titles in the discipline were decided.

In terms of Algarve athletes, mention should also be made of Nádia Mendes (Freebike Shop/Bike Clube S. Brás) and Adelino Cruz (BTT Loulé/Elevis), who, in terms of the veteran categories, won the masters 50 and masters 60, respectively. .

At the top level, Roberto Ferreira (Guilhabreu MTB) and Raquel Queirós (MMR Factory Racing Team) won the elite national titles in XCO.

The men's race of this XCO Credibom National Championship had a distinguished winner in Roberto Ferreira. The runner from Guilhabreu's team isolated himself to win with an advantage of 3m32s over Mário Costa, who took the immediate place. Third was Ricardo Marinheiro (Clube BTT Matosinhos), at 4m46s.

Raquel Queirós and Ana Santos (X-Sauce Factory Team) stood out among the female elite. Raquel Queirós, who won the short cross country title on Saturday, scored twice at the weekend, also winning the XCO race. Ana Santos spent another 38 seconds. The third, at 3m32s, was Joana Monteiro.

The under-23 national titles went to Diogo Neves (Guilhabreu MTB) and Laura Simão (BTT Loulé/Elevis).

Still among the younger ranks, highlights include the victories of juniors Guilherme Barros and Beatriz Guerra, both from Guilhabreu MTB, and cadets Gonçalo Costa, from the same team, and Margarida Vasconcelos (AXPO/FirstBikeTeam/Vila do Conde).

With regard to the veteran categories, the best were the 30 masters Filipe Ramos (Guilhabreu MTB) and Lurdes Gonçalves (Castelo Branco Cycling Center), the 40 masters Rogério Matos (Rompe Trilhos/Ajpcar) and Ângela Gonçalves (Korpo Activo/ Penacova), masters 50 António Passos (Rompe Trilhos/Ajpcar) and Nádia Mendes (Freebike Shop/Bike Clube S. Brás) and master 60 Adelino Cruz (BTT Loulé/Elevis).

Roberto Soares (Bombos S. Sebastião/LusoPrint MonçãoBike) won the paracycling competition.

Guilhabreu MTB collectively dominated followed by AXPO/FirstBike Team/Vila do Conde and Clube BTT Matosinhos.