Orquestra do Algarve gives Easter concert in Tavira

Concert will have violist Sofia Silva Sousa as soloist

Orquestra do Algarve, conducted by maestro Martim Sousa Tavares and accompanied solo by violist Sofia Silva Sousa, will perform in an Easter concert on April 9th, at 18 pm, at Igreja do Carmo in Tavira.

The program of the show, with free entrance, is composed of pieces by Antonio Vivaldi, Richard Wagner, Joseph Haydn and Benjamim Britten.

«Easter, in its narrative and meaning, goes far beyond the message of faith. The last moments of Christ's life and the miracle of his resurrection set the tone for a unique concert that includes some of the main Easter symbologies that will be presented and correlated with the music by maestro Martim Sousa Tavares», describes Câmara de Tavira.

The concert, adds the municipality, is also an occasion to listen to Sofia Silva Sousa, «a young and award-winning Portuguese violist, who is currently developing her career with the London Symphony Orchestra».



Lachrymae w/ solo viola

Symphony Al Santo Sepolcro

RICHARD WAGNER (1813-1883)
Good Friday Music from Parsifal

JOSEPH HAYDN (1732-1809)
Symphony #96, The Miracle