Sauro Agostinho and Sophie Bagnall start to win in São Brás de Alportel

At the start of the Portugal Enduro Cup presented by Shimano

Sauro Agostinho (Casa do Povo de Abrunheira) and Sophie Bagnall (Bicisintra/GásMucifal) won this Sunday, the 12th, in São Brás de Alportel, the first scoring race for the Portuguese Enduro Cup presented by Shimano.

The men's elite race witnessed the dominance of Sauro Agostinho, who won the five special timed courses (PEC). He finished with 15'11''280, 32,654 seconds less than João Rodrigues (Adc Alfarrazes / Guarda). Third, at 32,877 seconds, was home athlete Guilherme Jesus (MCF/XDream/Municipality of S. Brás).

The women's race over 17 years old was balanced, with only 5,636 seconds separating the first two. Sophie Bagnall was the fastest, followed by Ana Leite (AXPO Team Vila do Conde). The third was Beatriz Sousa (Guilhabreu BTT), at 2'30''048.


Sophie Bagnal


Among the youngest, the sub-21 Leonel Manteigas (Casa do Povo de Abrunheira), the junior Matias Camacho (Caniço Riders/Freeride Madeira), the cadet Tiago Patrocínio and the youth Nui Tai (Wildpack Algarve Racing) prevailed.

The winners in the veteran categories were master 30 Rafael Machado (AD Galomar/Ferragens Viera), master 35 Rafael Martins, master 40 Nuno Nóbrega (Mirachoro Hotels/Centro de Ciclismo de Portimão), master 45 Nuno Lopes (ADAR/ OFIMOTO), master 50 Leonel Bento (Casa do Povo de Abrunheira) and master Natalia Gil-Alfaro (Spain Downhill).

In electric-assist bicycles, Pedro Cândido (Movefree/Torres Vedras/Cofidis), in the up to 39 years old category, and Gonçalo Martins, in the over 40 years old category, prevailed.

The House of the People of Abrunheira won by teams.