Bach and Mozart at the Lenten Concert at the Misericórdia de Lagoa

Admission is free but registration is required

Image: Josh Applegate

The Igreja da Misericórdia de Lagoa hosts, on Saturday, April 9, at 17 pm, a Lenten concert, with Salomé Matias (transverse flute) and Tiago Santos (clarinet).

The program includes works by composers such as Johann Sebastian Bach, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Hector Berlioz, Anton Bruckner, Jean Sibelius and Franz Schubert.

This event is the result of a partnership between the Municipality of Lagoa, Santa Casa da Misericórdia de Lagoa and Ideias do Levante – Associação Cultural de Lagoa, with the aim of promoting the religious artistic heritage of the municipality and making known religious spaces, artists, instruments and works by Portuguese and foreign composers.

According to the Ideias do Levante association, this concert also aims to raise funds for the Santa Casa da Misericórdia de Lagoa. Donations can be sent to IBAN PT50004570604000764221151 or can be delivered before or after the concert, at the entrance of the church.

Salomé Matias is from the Algarve and began her musical studies at the age of 5 at the Academia de Música de Lagos, choosing the piano as her instrument.

At the age of 11, he began to study the transverse flute, which he later chose as his main instrument. She simultaneously completed the 8th grade of the flute and piano course in 2011, under the guidance of Professor Maria João Cerol and Professor João Luís Rosa.

That same year, he joined the University of Évora in the field of Interpretation – Transverse Flute, where he continued his studies with Professor Anabela Malarranha.

He attended masterclasses with professors Luís Garcia, Ana Sofia Dias, Marina Camponês, Rien de Reende, Vasco Gouveia and Stephanie Wagner. He worked with conductors Luís Clemente, Jacob de Haan, Kodo Yamagishi, Christopher Bochmann and Luís Pinheiro.

Between 2013 and 2019, he taught the subject of transverse flute at the Regional Conservatory of Alto Alentejo and Escola de Artes do Norte Alentejano.

In 2021, she completed her Masters in Music Teaching at the University of Évora, currently teaching the flute class at Sociedade Filarmónica Silvense and Sociedade Filarmónica Portimonense.

Tiago Santos, born in Gançaria, Santarém, began his musical studies at the age of 14 on clarinet at the Sociedade Filarmónica de Instrução e Cultura Musical de Gançaria.

At the age of 15, he joined the AMA in the clarinet class of Professor Jorge Camacho and, in 2012, completed his Degree in Clarinet with Professor Étienne Lamaison at the Department of Arts at the University of Évora.

As an instrumentalist, he played with The Gift, Wanda Stuart, Corvos, Nuno Guerreiro, Cuca Roseta, Rita Guerra and is a founding member of several groups, including the Clarinet Quartet of the University of Évora, Lutosduet, Ricky Foxtrot, Kamal and Open bar.

He participated in several clarinet masterclasses, with teachers Étienne Lamaison, Jorge Camacho, António Menino, António Rosa, Nuno Silva, Nuno Pinto, among others.

In parallel with his activity as a clarinetist, he attended courses in orchestral direction with Maestros Mitchell Fennell, Pedro Ralo, António Menino, Alberto Roque and, particularly, with Kodo Yamagishi, assistant to the S. Carlos orchestra.

He directed the Sociedade Filarmónica Lacobrigense 1º de Maio between 2015 and 2019 and currently works as a professor of Music Training at the Lagos Conservatory of Arts and Music and as a clarinet teacher at the Sociedade Filarmónica Portimonense and the Sociedade Filarmónica Silvense.



> Cantata Symphony “Non sa che sia dolore”, BWV 209 – JS Bach;
>> “Lascia la spina, cogli la rosa” from the Oratory “Il Trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno”, HMV 46a – Handel;
>> Church Sonata No. 1 in Eb Major, k. 67/41h – WA Mozart;
>> Church Sonata No. 12 in C Major, k.263 – WA Mozart;
>> “Erbarme dich, mein Gott” from the Oratory “St Matthew Passion”, BWV 244, part 2 – JS Bach;
>> “Ave Maria” – F. Schubert;
>> “Dans cette ville immense” from the Oratory “L'Enfance du Christ” – H. Berlioz;
>> “Sheep May Safely Graze” by Cantata 208 – JS Bach;
>> Be still my soul, from “Finlandia” op. 26 – J. Sibelius;
>> Locus Iste – motet WAB 23 – A. Bruckner.


To take place in person, the concert, with free admission, will follow the recommendations of the DGS – Directorate General for Health, and it is necessary to book in time by one of the following ways:
– booking form via online by clicking here.
– 282380053 (secretary), number available from Monday to Friday, from 09:30 am to 12:30 pm and from 14:30 pm to 17:30 pm.
– 965017845 (production), number available on the day of the concert from 14 pm to 00 pm.

Misericórdia Church of Lagoa
Presumably built between 1521 and 1525, the Igreja da Misericórdia de Lagoa is located in the heart of the urban fabric. surmounted by a royal crown in relief at the center, which replaced the previous one, more ornate.

Its interior, with a rectangular plan and wooden and tiled roof in place of the original vault, is decorated with XNUMXth century tile panels and a frieze of flowered crocuses framed by baroque foliage.

In the chancel, you can see a gilded altarpiece, a work from the late XNUMXth century, where a beautiful image of the Crucified Lord is framed. Also noteworthy are the images, placed in red-painted niches, of S. João Baptista and Santa Isabel, Queen of Portugal, both from the XNUMXth century.

Among other aspects of the history of Misericórdia de Lagoa, it is worth mentioning the existence of an ancient alley.

Ideias do Levante is a cultural association, founded on the 27th of April 1995, with headquarters in Lagoa (Algarve, Portugal) and extension in Portimão (Espaço Portas do Sol), with activity around the formation, production and cultural promotion, through of regular and occasional projects, not only in the area of ​​performing, visual and literary arts, but also in the area of ​​health and well-being.