Borders between Portugal and Spain will remain closed until April 15

These limitations do not prevent the entry into Portugal of national citizens and holders of a residence permit in Portugal, as well as the exit of citizens residing in other countries

The control of people on land and river borders between Portugal and Spain will continue until April 15, due to the pandemic of covid-19, announced today the Ministry of Internal Administration (MAI).

“Following the permanent articulation between the governments of Portugal and Spain, and taking into account the epidemiological situation in both countries, the control of people at land and river borders will continue until 23:59 on April 15th, maintaining all Authorized Crossing Points (PPA) and the schedules established in the previous period ”, says a statement from the Ministry under the tutelage of Eduardo Cabrita.

The MAI states that, as of 00:00 on Tuesday, the circulation, between Portugal and Spain, of international transport of goods, of duly documented cross-border and seasonal workers, and of emergency and rescue vehicles is limited and emergency service.

The Ministry of Internal Administration also advances that it continues to “suspend cross-border rail circulation, except for goods transport, as well as river transport between Portugal and Spain”.

According to MAI, these limitations do not prevent the entry into Portugal of national citizens and holders of residence permits in Portugal, as well as the exit of citizens residing in other countries.

In the statement, MAI also recalls that citizens from the United Kingdom, Brazil, South Africa and countries with an incidence rate of covid-19 equal to or greater than 500 cases per 100 thousand inhabitants, entering Portugal by land , must comply with a period of prophylactic isolation of 14 days, at home or in a location indicated by health authorities.

In the list of these countries are Bulgaria, Czechia / Czech Republic, Cyprus, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Poland and Sweden.

The borders with Spain have been closed since January 31 due to the covid-19 pandemic, with circulation between the two countries only being permitted at the 18 authorized crossing points (PPA).

The seven PPAs that operate permanently are those in Valença, Vila Verde da Raia, Quintanilha, Vilar Formoso, Caia, Vila Verde de Ficalho and Castro Marim.

The Marvão PPA is open on weekdays, from 06 am to 00 pm, while the authorized crossing points of Monção, Melgaço, Montalegre, Vinhais and Ponte da Barca are open between Monday and Friday, from 20 am: 00 to 06:00 and from 09:00 to 17:00.

The Miranda do Douro, Termas de Monfortinho, Mourão and Barrancos PPAs are open on weekdays from 07:00 to 09:00 and from 17:00 to 19:00 and the Rio de Onor open on Wednesdays and Saturdays, between 10:00 am to 12:00 pm.

In Portugal, 16.879 people died from 823.335 confirmed cases of infection, according to the most recent bulletin from the Directorate-General for Health.

The covid-19 pandemic caused at least 2.847.182 deaths worldwide, resulting from more than 130,6 million cases of infection, according to a report made by the French agency AFP.