Who are the MEP climate champions and their destroyers?

On the verge of elections for the European Parliament, Quercus in partnership with Sanbag of the United Kingdom, the Network […]

On the verge of elections for the European Parliament, Quercus, in partnership with Sanbag of the United Kingdom, the European Climate Action Network, the WWF and the EU-Parlameter, presents a ranking of Portuguese MEPs, based on 11 relevant decisions taken in the the last five years in relation to European climate policy.

Each subject (or vote), according to the importance of the subject, weighed differently in the total accounting.

Alignment with the position defended by non-governmental environmental organizations, favoring a positive and ambitious action on the subject of climate change, deserved the value of one; a vote against, an abstention or the absence of a vote was counted as “zero”.

The specific assessment of each MEP can be found at http://www.laurencewatson.co.uk/index.php, allowing a quick consultation on whether a particular MEP is a climate champion or a climate destroyer, or has an intermediate rating.

From this ranking, it was concluded that, among the Portuguese, there are seven "climate champions", five "climate friends" and two "climate destroyers" MEPs.

Thus, in a score that varied between 0 and 100, Portugal has seven deputies in the European Parliament that Quercus considers “champions for the climate”: Alda Sousa, Luís Paulo Alves, Rui Tavares, Elisa Ferreira, António Correia de Campos, Marisa Matias and Capoulas Santos (one independent, two from the Left Block and the rest from the PS), with Alda Sousa even getting the highest score (100).

The five “climate friends” never voted, but on several occasions they abstained or did not participate in some votes. They are Vital Moreira, Ana Gomes, Edite Estrela, Inês Zuber and João Ferreira (deputies for the PS and PCP).

Deputies Mário David and Nuno Teixeira of the PSD were, according to the criteria, "a clear obstacle to European climate policy", with seven votes against in 11 decisions.

The European elections will take place between 22 and 25 May in the 28 member states, depending on the Electoral Law of each country. In Portugal, elections are scheduled for May 25th.